Log in

Lifetime Achievement Award

Gary Leu

Gary has worked for Davis School District for the past 16 years, but has served as a school psychologist in many settings across the Mountain West region. We work in a field that is somewhat obsessed with measurement, however Gary’s impact to improve the lives of students must be immeasurable. In Utah and in the pacific northwest Gary has contributed many years in the field focused on youth suicide prevention. His work in public settings and schools completing suicide risk assessment, safety plans, and training other professionals to support persons at risk for suicide has impacted the lives of many. Gary is passionate about the role of school psychologists and has for many years served as a union representative and loud advocate for our profession in the state.

School Psychologist of the Year

Joseph Viskochil

Joe is currently working for Davis School District; he is a graduate from the University of Utah school psychology program. Joe’s most recent significant contributions to Davis and the State have been surrounding Patterns of Strengths and Weakness. In this work Joe has provided critical training, support, design, and ongoing oversight of the PSW model in Davis. He continues to work with the State Board on best practices in PSW for Utah in the future. Joe is also invaluable in his work with higher need special education students in the 19-22 year old population. On top of all of that, Joe is also a valuable mentor to other school psychologists around him and is held in high regard by his colleagues. Though he is highly accomplished, his most recent accomplishment is being a new father to an adorable baby girl. 

School Psychology Student of the Year

Nicole McCullough

Nicole has been a very strong student in the school psychology program at Brigham Young University.  As an intern in Granite, she is an effective collaborator, and works to find options and positive aspects of whatever situations the team is sorting through. Her school staff view her as a warm and hard-working individual. While completing her coursework at BYU, she consistently turned in high quality work and demonstrated strong critical thinking skills which led her to ask thought provoking questions.  Nicole has also completed additional coursework at BYU to become eligible to sit for the Board Certified Behavior Analyst exam.  She completed her robust thesis researching the academic needs of college athletes. Congratulations Nicole – we are excited for your career and the difference you will make for students.

Outstanding Service to Children and Families

Representative Steve Eliason

It is an honor to present this award to Representative Eliason. In addition to his many accomplishments in the time he has served in the Utah House of Representatives, he currently serves as a Board Member and a Past-President of the Board of Trustees for The Road Home; his involvement extends back to 2002. The Road Home is a private non-profit social service agency that assists individuals and families experiencing homelessness in Salt Lake County and along the Wasatch Front.

With this award, UASP recognizes Rep. Eliason for his work in youth suicide prevention. With suicide as the leading cause of death for children between the ages of 10 and 18, among the highest in the nation, it is clear that more needs to be done to equip students with positive tools for emotional and mental health. Through Rep. Eliason's work with the Utah Legislature and the Education Appropriations Committee, he has been a critical advocate across the state for youth suicide prevention and anti-bullying and harassment legislation. His efforts have ensured the passage of important legislation to increase students' access to school-based mental health professionals. His work also has led to the development of the SAFE UT smartphone app, which reaches thousands of youth at risk for suicide or self-harm each month, and that number continues to rise as more students gain access to this critical resource where they might not otherwise have one.

For these reasons, it our privilege to extend our sincere gratitude to Rep. Eliason for his service and advocacy on behalf students in the state of Utah, and an honor to recognize Rep. Eliason as UASP's recipient of the 2018 Outstanding Service to Children and Families award.

Distinguished Service to UASP

Bethanie Monsen-Ford

Bethanie has served on the board of UASP for the past 10 years. During this time she has been a valued member and contributor to the Board. She serves on multiple committees and currently is our Correspondence Secretary. We have appreciated Bethanie’s thoughtful and innovative ideas for how UASP can increase our members’ engagement with UASP and how UASP can, in return, support our members. Bethanie has worked hard to connect with school psychologists across the state through social media, networking with other professional associations, and much more.

Each year, the Utah Association of School Psychologists honors those who have made an outstanding contribution to the goals and standards of our profession though our annual awards program. UASP awards are presented at UASP's annual conference.

Please consider nominating a colleague (who is a current UASP member) for one of the following four awards.

Note: deadline for receipt of nominations is October 30th.


The purpose of the Lifetime Achievement Award is to identify and recognize an outstanding school psychologist who has had state level impact on the field of school psychology and who has dedicated his or her professional life to the development and betterment of school psychology.


The purpose of the School Psychologist of the Year Award is to identify and recognize an outstanding school psychologist and to promote public awareness of the profession.


The purpose of the Barbara Bennett Excellence in Diversity Award is to identify and recognize an outstanding school psychologist who has provided leadership and advocacy for the treatment of diverse populations with respect within the field of school psychology.


The purpose of the School Psychology Student of the Year Award is to identify and recognize an outstanding school psychology student and to promote public awareness of the profession.

Please consider nominating a fellow UASP member today!

Review the nomination criteria for each award here: (UASP Awards Summary)

Two additional awards are presented annually by the UASP Executive Board:


The purpose of the Distinguished Service Award is to identify and recognize a member of UASP who has given exceptional service to UASP and the profession of school psychology.


The purpose of the Outstanding Service to Children and Families Award is to identify and recognize an individual who is an outstanding advocate for children and their families.

To nominate a colleague, please download and complete the Nomination Form (UASP Awards Nomination Form) and send via US mail to:

UASP Awards Committee, 358 S. 700 East B-312, Salt Lake City, UT 84102

Completed nominations are due October 30th

Award recipients will be announced at UASP's annual conference

UASP is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

For research requests, please complete this form. A Google, Gmail, or G Suite account is required.
358 S. 700 East, B-312
Salt Lake City, UT 84102

Feel free to contact us with any questions!
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software